Project:  Designing and Leading Rites of Passage: Basic Training for Lay Chaplains

Friday, April 9 – Sunday, April 11, online via Zoom

This event is a weekend-long intensive training,  mandatory for anyone planning, or recently selected by their congregation, to become a CUC Lay Chaplain. The basic lay chaplaincy training is also recommended for members of congregational Lay ChaplaincyCommittees congregational Boards.

Offered online via Zoom. the training spans six sessions starting Friday evening and continuing on Saturday and Sunday.

Participants will enjoy a lively and engaging course facilitated by UU Lay Chaplains and trainers that will equip them with the knowledge and tools to create rites of passage (weddings, memorials, child dedications ) and an understanding of the roles and responsibilities of a Lay Chaplain.

Required reading materials and other information, along with a detailed schedule,  will be emailed to registrants prior to the training.

Schedule (all sessions are 90 minutes in duration): 

Session 1: Friday, April 9 – 3 pm PT|4 pm MT|5 pm CT|6 pm ET|7 pm AT
Session2: Saturday, April 10 – 9 am PT|10 am – MT|11 am CT |12 pm ET| 1 pm AT
Session 3: Saturday, April 10: 11:30 am PT|12:30 pm MT|1:30 pm CT|2:30 pm ET|3:30 pm AT
Session 4: Saturday, April 11: 2 pm PT|3 pm MT|4 pm CT|5 pm ET|6 pm AT
Session 5: Sunday, April 11, 2021: 11:30 am PT|12:30 pm MT|1:30 pm CT|2:30 pm ET|3:30 pm AT
Session 6:  Sunday, April 11, 2021: 2 pm PT|3 pm MT|4 pm CT|5 pm ET|6 pm AT

Cost:  $100, $125, $150, $175 (sliding fee scale)

Registration Deadline: March 31


Registration is now closed.