Welcome to the CUC 2020 National Fall Gathering

The three-day weekend is packed full of interesting workshops. Don’t miss the opportunities to join UUs from across the country in national sessions.

Watch the Sunday service live on CUC’s YouTube channel.

Great news! Parents and children ages 9-12 are invited to join in free programming during our National Fall Gathering. A separate registration form is required for parental permission.

Access this document: Weekend Schedule; Workshop Schedule, Descriptions and Links for more information – the Zoom links are in this document, which you will need for each session after you’ve completed the registration below.

 

Friday, November 13 – Regional Gatherings (90 minutes)

Join friends from your region for our opening event filled with music and reflection. Each event will provide opportunities for us to deepen our regional connections and have meaningful small group facilitated conversations about interesting topics. 

British Columbia: 7:00-8:30 pm PT
Western (Albert, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Thunder Bay, ON): 7:00-8:30 pm CT / 6:00-7:30 pm MT
Central (Ontario, except for Kingston, Ottawa and Quebec): 7:00-8:30 pm ET
Eastern (Kingston, Ottawa, Quebec, Atlantic provinces) 7:00-8:30 pm AT

Saturday, November 14 – Opening Gathering – 9 am PT | 10 am MT | 11 am CT | 12 pm ET | 1 pm AT (30 minutes)

Workshop Sessions: 

SESSIONS A – 10:00 am PT | 11:00 am MT | 12:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm ET | 2:00 pm AT (90 minutes) – pick one session as these run concurrently

Shine a Little Light: Children’s Program – Ben Robbins
Join Ben Robbins, Religious Exploration Coordinator for the Peterborough congregation, for an hour of activities and fun for children ages 9-12 years old as we explore the ways community, connection and belonging can sustain our light. Register here – deadline: November 10 at midnight ET

Peer Pastoral Care – Liv Gardiner and Rev. Nicoline Guerrier
This workshop will equip you with a framework and some basic skills to better emotionally and spiritually support yourself and those around you. For ages 14+. 

What’s going on here? – Rev. Linda Thomson & Joan Carolyn, M Div
What may be happening in our congregation to cause people to have intense reactions?  Leaders will learn strategies for considering the bigger picture and developing productive responses to a sticky situations.

Truth, Healing and Reconciliation – Conversation with Sharon Jinkerson Brass
Come with an open heart to learn about Oneness and meet Sharon Jinkerson Brass who has agreed to be an Elder for the CUC this year. For ages 14+

Dismantling Racism within Canadian UU Congregations – Kierstin Homblette Allen, Beloved Conversations & Beverly Horton
Systemic racism shapes our society and pervades our relationships. Come discuss how we can dismantle it and grow more inclusive congregations. 

SESSIONS B – 12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET | 4:00 pm AT (90 minutes) – pick one session as these run concurrently

Sustaining the Flame: A Gathering for Parents  – Mel Horvath-Lucid
Join Mel Horvath-Lucid, Director of Lifelong Learning for the Guelph Congregation as we gather for an Appreciative Inquiry circle, poetry and meditation, as we hold space for one another in the unique experience of parenting in a pandemic.

Creating Sacred Space Online for Youth and Young Adults – Chloe Hart and Casey Stainsby|
Come learn the secrets to creating engaging meaningful virtual gatherings for youth, young adults, and people of all ages. For ages 14+

Resilient Leadership – Rev. Linda Thomson & Joan Carolyn, M. Div.
Explore the characteristics of healthy, resilient leadership through roleplaying and theory. 

Truth, Healing, and Reconciliation Workshop:  Conversation with  Stephen Paquette  – Being in Relationship
Come with an open heart to meet community bridge builder and Indigenous teacher Stephen Paquette who has agreed to be an Elder for the CUC this year. For ages 14+

Educating for Anti-Racism – Katharine Childs, Director of Religious Exploration, Unitarian Church of Montreal
Anti-racism education for ourselves, our children, and our community is key to dismantling racism. Join us as we share ideas and valuable resources to do this work together.

Conversation on “Sustaining Our Light,” Hosted by CUC Board of Trustees – 2:00 pm PT | 3:00 pm MT | 4:00 pm CT | 5:00 pm ET | 6:00 pm AT (90 minutes) – The service will be available on the CUC’s YouTube channel.

After the Saturday workshops, you are invited to join the conversation about “Sustaining Our Light” and what we are learning during this pandemic that will sustain and strengthen us. Hosted by the CUC Board of Trustees

Coffeehouse4:00 pm PT, 5:00 pm MT | 6:00 pm CT | 7:00 pm ET | 8:00 pm AT  (75 minutes) 

Come to the Coffeehouse in the evening! There will be music, storytelling, poetry and fellowship. To sign-up to contribute to the evening please follow this link. The deadline is November 6.

Sunday, November 15 – National Service: “Sustaining Our Light” – 10 am PT | 11:00 am MT | 12:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm ET | 2:00 pm AT – The service will be available on the CUC’s YouTube channel.

Be part of the National Sunday Service on November 15, hosted by 5 ministers from across the country. During this music-filled service, our focus will be “Sustaining Our Light” and how we need each other to create community

Cost: There is no charge for the Friday regional gatherings or the Sunday service. There is a fee to attend one or more streams of Saturday’s National Gathering.

Sliding fee scale – $20, $40, 60, $80,  $100
Check out our Sliding Scale Fee page for guidance in discerning how much to pay.


Registration – deadline November 10 at midnight ET

How to register for the events: 

FIRST register for the events and workshop sessions:

  1. Register first for the different sessions you would like to attend on the registration form below.
  2. There is no charge for the Friday regional gatherings, Saturday coffeehouse or the Sunday Service, but we would appreciate an indication on the registration form of which events you’d like to attend. 

NEXT register for Zoom 

  1. Once you’ve registered for the session through the CUC Events page, check this document for the Zoom links.
  2. Click on the bitly link for the session you want to attend and this will take you to the Zoom registration page for that event. 
  3. Once you’ve filled in the information, Zoom will send you an email with the link for the specific session, so please check your inboxes and please save the email you receive to join your sessions on Saturday, November 14.
  4. Please allow yourself a few extra minutes to complete the Zoom sign in before each session. 

Registration tips: 

  • To keep track of the different Zoom links for sessions, copy and paste the urls into your calendar with the date, time and title of each session. Google or Outlook calendars work well for this  and Zoom provides options for adding to this information to your calendars.
  • TIP: To keep track of session descriptions while you’re registering on the CUC webpage, keep this document open in one tab and the CUC registration on another tab to refer back and forth by right-clicking to open new tabs.