Designing & Leading Rites of Passage: Basics Training for Lay Chaplains,  2023

Saturday, February 25 –  9:00 am PT,  10:00 am MT, 11:00 am CT,  12 noon ET,  1:00pm AT, 1:30pm NT (6 hours)
Sunday, February 26 –  11:30 am PT,  12:30 pm MT,  1:30 pm CT, 2:30 pm ET,  3:30 pm AT, 4:00 pm NT (3.5 hours)
Saturday, March 4 – 9:00 am PT,  10:00 am MT, 11:00 am CT,  12:00 pm ET,  1:00 pm AT, 1:30 pm NT (6 hours)

This workshop is for those considering Lay Chaplaincy, recently appointed Lay Chaplains and members of a congregation’s Lay Chaplaincy committee. It provides basic guidelines on the management of a congregation’s Lay Chaplaincy program and the training new Lay Chaplains need to begin their work.
Lay Chaplain terms are for six years, so training for new Lay Chaplains is required regularly.

 This “Basics” course is the keystone piece to that training, and incoming lay chaplains should participate in this training close to the time of their appointment by the congregation. Please note that the Basics training is only held once a year so planning ahead will help make sure your congregation is prepared.

Any Lay Chaplains appointed by your congregations in 2017 or earlier will be retiring soon and you’ll be looking to recruit new ones. Please check the status of your current Lay Chaplains and encourage any member who might be interested in attending the Basics Course to consider doing so.

While Basics is a required course for those who become Lay Chaplains, it is also recommended for congregation members who are interested in serving on your congregation’s Lay Chaplaincy support committee or who are just interested in designing and leading rites of passage.

We encourage all who are interested in this rewarding and spiritually enriching work to attend. 

Participants should complete the Lay Chaplaincy Quiz in advance of registration. It is found at: https://cuc.ca/lay-chaplaincy-quiz/

Cost:  $100, $125, $150, $175 (sliding fee scale)

Registration – Deadline: February 17

** Participants will receive a detailed schedule, in advance of the event, noting breaks, so that they can plan their weekends.

 


Registration