Un-Colonizing Climate Action: Not Another Stakeholder

Wednesday, January 4 – 4 pm PT | 5 pm MT | 6 pm CT | 7 pm ET | 8 pm AT (2 hours)
Wednesday, March 1 – 4 pm PT | 5 pm MT | 6 pm CT | 7 pm ET | 8 pm AT (2 hours)
Wednesday, May 3 – 4 pm PT | 5 pm MT | 6 pm CT | 7 pm ET | 8 pm AT (2 hours)

Want to deepen your understanding of how to un-colonize your climate justice practice? We invite you to join our Un-Colonizing Climate Action sessions where you will make connections with others who are taking steps to unite their work regarding Right Relations with Indigenous peoples with their Climate Change activism.

Each session will include a learning focus, reflective group discussion, message from one of the CUC Elders, and opportunity to network with other activists.

Areas we will cover include:

  • What we mean by colonization, decolonization, and un-colonization
  • Identifying colonial characteristics in our movements
  • Settler wounds of disconnection from Mother Earth and how mourning this loss may help heal how settlers relate to the Earth
  • “Not another Stakeholder”
  • Amplifying Indigenous Leadership

One of the CUC Elders, Sharon Jinkerson-Brass or Stephen Paquette will join Erin Horvath for each of the sessions to help us broaden our understanding of what un-colonizing and decolonizing involves like in this context.

Here’s how it works:

  • Attend each of the three networking sessions where you will meet others
  • Learn, discuss, and expand your thinking
  • Determine a next step you’d like to take with others or individually
  • Decide if/how you’d like to continue to connect with members of the group once the 3 sessions are finished

Un-Colonizing Climate Action Registration – Deadline: January 4, 2023

Unpublished form