Serving with Spirit: Nurturing UU Leaders

Online Mini-series taking place on Sundays: January 23 & 30, February 6, 13 & 20, 2022
Each session will be from 1-3 pm PT/ 2-4 pm MT/ 3- 5 pm CT/ 4- 6 pm ET/ 5- 7 pm AT

Serving with Spirit: Nurturing UU Leaders invites leader and emerging leaders to an exploration of living our your beliefs in service – a joyful expression of your values as a leader. Steering in a direction that orients you towards a vibrant sense of service. Deeper connections and spiritual practice in your life.

Join us for an interactive five sessions over a five-week learning journey! Each week, you start with learning materials–videos, worksheets, and experiential learning experiences.  You’re invited to work through the materials at your own pace, on your own, and with classmates online.  During each Sunday session, the group gathers on Zoom to share and learn together.

Together we will seek to build our capacity as leaders, allowing us to return to our home communities with stronger networks, fresh perspectives, and a sense of rejuvenation.

  • January 23 – Opening Session with assignment for next meeting
  • January 30, February 6 & 13 will each have reflection pieces to be completed for the next gathering
  • February 20 – Wrap- up Session with special focus on take home for self and home group/congregation

Online via Zoom

Cost: Sliding fee scale: $70/ $100/ $130 (with an option to pay what you can)
For those outside Canada, add an additional $10 to cover additional postage for material mailing

Facilitators:

Liz James
Liz James is a freelance writer and zoom-itinerant preacher, with a passion for creating genuine community and growth in online spaces.  She runs the not-for-profit Mirth and Dignity, a Unitarian Universalist humour organization and community, and co-hosts the UU podcast The Cracked Cup.  Liz believes that laughter is a spiritual practice, which— surprisingly— almost never gets her into trouble at church.  Liz’s home church is Saskatoon.  That’s probably why.

Joan Carolyn, M. Div.Joan Carolyn
Congregational Life, Lead for British Columbia & Western Regions (Read Joan’s bio)
Joan continues to be excited and grateful to be part of the CUC Congregational Life Team. Interaction with Canadian UUs within her BC and Western regions, and beyond, has inspired, guided and informed her work. Joan anticipates continued shared journeys as we grow vital Canadian UU communities together (read Joan’s bio).

Reverend Linda ThomsonRev. Linda Thompson
Congregational Life, Lead for Central & Eastern Regions
Knowing first hand the value of religious community – having joys celebrated, care offered and assumptions challenged –  Linda is committed to helping congregations and communities respond to the needs of the people they serve.  Unitarian Universalism’s liberal and life-affirming theology has made all the difference in her life.  She believes that our work will not be done until everyone who would join us has had the opportunity to engage with us, and be changed by the encounter (read Rev. Linda’s bio).


Registration: Deadline Jan 16, 2022
Registration is now closed.