CUC Awards

Victor and Nancy Knight Living Tribute Award

Ellen Campbell receiving the Knight AwardThe Victor and Nancy Knight Living Tribute Award is presented at the CUC Annual Meeting. Funds were received in 1996 for the purpose of establishing a perpetual fund to honour the ideals exemplified by the lives and work of Nancy and Victor Knight in furthering the principles of Unitarianism in Canada. As an encouragement for others to follow their example, an award is made annually from the income of the fund to a living person, who has made a notable contribution to the furthering of liberal religious principles in Canada.

2016Ellen CampbellFirst Unitarian Congregation of Toronto
2015Barbara TaylorUnitarian Church of Vancouver
2015John TaylorUnitarian Church of Vancouver
2014Christine JohnstonFirst Unitarian Church of Victoria
2013Rev. Brian KielyUnitarian Church of Edmonton
2012Leroy DickeyFirst Unitarian Congregation of Waterloo
2011Kim TurnerUniversalist Unitarian Church of Halifax
2010Ralph GreerUnitarian Church of Vancouver
2009Art BrewerFirst Unitarian Congregation of Toronto
2008Stan CalderUnitarian Church of Edmonton
2007John SlatteryBeacon Unitarian Church
2006Heather WattsUniversalist Unitarian Church of Halifax
2005Bert ChristensenFirst Unitarian Congregation of Toronto
2005Anna MacIverFirst Unitarian Congregation of Toronto
2004Ruth Patrick Unitarian Church of Edmonton
2003John HopewellFirst Unitarian Church of Victoria
2002Bernie KeelerUnitarian Church of Edmonton
2001Herman BoermaUnitarian Congregation of Saskatoon
2000Helen BackhouseUnitarian Church of Calgary
1999Ed RatcliffeKingston Unitarian Fellowship
1998Jack WallaceUnitarian Church of Vancouver
1997Mary Lu MacdonaldUniversalist Unitarian Church of Halifax
1996John MayDon Heights Unitarian Fellowship
1995Charles EddisUnitarian Church of Montreal
Phillip HewettUnitarian Church of Vancouver

Social Justice Recognition Award

Unitarians and Universalists have a proud history in the forefront of many movements for social change. The Social Justice Recognition Award is granted to an individual for their outstanding contribution locally and nationally in an area of social justice work. This individual is nominated by their peers for making notable contributions to a single initiative or for their overall commitment to social action.

Last awarded to posthumously to Bruce Schwartzentruber (First Toronto), 2015.